Pickle Fail (with a decent recipe)

24 Aug

After experimenting with pickling projects like sauerkraut, kimchi, and chutneys, I finally attempted the classic pickle this month.  I bought a bunch of Kirby cucumbers at my local farmer’s market, and on August 10 I put them in a brine with spices, left to sit until the 22nd. The result of my rather improvised recipe could have been perfect, ingredient-wise, but  what I ended up with was a moldy mess. The problem was my mediocre way of keeping the Kirbys under the brine. So sad. I had thought my method quite ingenious too: I filled a plastic bag with water, and put that inside my glass fermenting jar to weight and seal the top, with the lid on above that. In the course of 12 days, however, both cucumbers and garlic managed to weasel their way around the bag and protrude into air, leaving themselves vulnerable to molding.  I may have been able to avoid problems if I had checked on the pickles more often.

20130823-234950.jpg

Mold on my pickles and garlic. 

20130823-235008.jpg

Here’s my water-filled bag acting as a weight. Notice all the schmutz along the edges. Yuck.

Mold is not always a calamity. It’s often possible to skim mold off the top of a pickling ferment and save the layers underneath. Unfortunately, these pickles had enough mold per capita that I decided to recall the whole lot. My birthday is next week, so perhaps a real pickling crock is in my near future….

Anyway, I decided to take a chomp on one non-moldy pickle-end, and it was quite delicious. If you can keep your cukes under water, I think this recipe will serve quite well.  The mustard takes them to the spicy side:

Cucumber Pickles

6 Kirby cucumbers
6 cloves garlic, peeled but whole
1T mustard seeds
2 sprigs of dill with seeds
1/2c yogurt whey
2T sea salt
Filtered water to cover

Combine all ingredients in a jar or crock.  Use a plate with a water filled jar on top it or your crock- top to push the pickles below the water. Leave them for about 2 weeks (mine seemed ready at 12 days), or until pickles are the consistency of your liking.  The longer you go, the softer they will become. Refrigerate your pickles when they are ready, and eat!  I hope you have better luck than I.  

20130824-000352.jpg

One of my fermenting shelves.   Notice that early in the ferment when I took this picture, my pickles were behaving.  Neither the plastic bag nor Bruce Lee managed to weight my pickles down in the long run, though. The pickle jar is on the far left, accompanied by a cherry spirits infusion that I will write about soon, and a 5 gallon carboy of T’ej in the back.

2 Responses to “Pickle Fail (with a decent recipe)”

  1. narf77 December 6, 2014 at 2:36 pm #

    I have learned to love my fails, you never learn anything if you constantly succeed and often, I find something new and most interesting in a “fail” that I wouldn’t ever have known/noticed if I didn’t stuff up. Cheers for the “decent recipe” and the honesty 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Alewife’s Birthday toys | Brooklyn Alewife - September 6, 2013

    […] I wrote about a failed moldy cucumber pickle recipe, and in response to that experiment, my love answered my desires and got me a birthday crock! No […]

Leave a comment

Old Ways Herbal: Juliette Abigail Carr

Women's Health & Family Herbal Appointments, Vermont Herb School, & Free Herbal Article Library

thesoporificcabbage

A great WordPress.com site

Naturally DIY

Ayurvedic and homemade solutions for healthy living

Brooklyn Alewife

a record of home brewing experiments

Conscious Baby

Respectful baby sleep, toddler challenges, motor development

Tea Foodie [#cookingwithtea]

a journal of tea-inspired recipes

Urban Herbwifery

your source for herbal wisdom, green living tidbits, and natural pregnancy and labor information

martinezyoga

Salvador Martinez, SF Bay Area, E-RYT 500, YACEP