Daikon Kimchi: Kkakdugi

21 Feb

I’ve been meaning to make kimchi for some time. I love it, I buy it, but then I hear stories about how you are supposed to bury it in the back yard for years before you eat it, and I think that this kind of lore intimidated me: especially as I don’t have a backyard to dig a hole in, and in Greenpoint, I don’t think I’d want to do that anyway, thanks to the noxious stuff under our ground due to the Newton Creek oil spill so many years ago, not to mention what other industrial junk gets into the ground….

Last week we went out to a Korean restaurant and got a wonderful array of traditional kimchi appetizers. My favorite of all of these is always the daikon kimchi, also called Kkakdugi. This variety of kimchi is much harder to find in the stores: the ones I shop in, at least, and so my desire for more Kkakdugi brought me to finally overcome my fear of kimchi and make some. After searching my fermentation books and a few recipes online, I decided on my method. Here’s what I did–

 

20130213-184610.jpg

Kkakdugi (Daikon Kimchi):

Cut off the green tops of a bunch of daikon radishes— about 1 and 1/2 lbs. Save the tops for putting in a soup or stir fry. Radish greens are delicious! Wash, peel, and chop the radish roots into 1/2 inch cubes.

In a large bowl, place the radishes and add 1 1/2 T salt, 1 T sugar.  Let the radishes sit for at least an hour.  I think I waited 3 hours.  You could even let it sit overnight.

After they have sat for some time, the salt and sugar will have caused the radishes to release their juices.  Keep this juice!

Add to the mix:

5-6 cloves minced garlic

2 inches of ginger, peeled and grated

2 T fish sauce

3 T hot pepper flakes

4 or five scallions, with their greens, finely chopped.

Mix the ingredients well until the seasonings coat the radish evenly.  Taste it.  If  you want more spice, add more ginger or pepper and mix again.  Put everything into a quart-sized jar.  Press the radishes gently down.  The radish juice should rise up to cover the radishes.  If it doesn’t, add enough filtered water to cover the radishes.

Recipes that I’ve seen say that you should let the daikon sit for 2-3 days before it’s fermented.  At 2-3 days, mine tasted lacking, so I let it ferment a good week– then it tasted “done” to me– until then there was a top note missing.  So, ferment until you think it’s done.  Check the radishes every day or so, tasting as you see fit, making sure that they remain under the brine.  When your kimchi is ready, eat immediately, or refrigerate until you’re ready to chow down!

3 Responses to “Daikon Kimchi: Kkakdugi”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pickle Fail (with a decent recipe) | Brooklyn Alewife - August 24, 2013

    […] experimenting with pickling projects like sauerkraut, kimchi, and chutneys, I finally attempted the classic pickle this month.  I bought a bunch of Kirby […]

  2. Alewife’s Birthday toys | Brooklyn Alewife - September 6, 2013

    […] sauce, from what I can see, and then there is sugar added for the ferment.  Interesting.  My kkakdugi kimchi was brined and stayed in brine…  so this is a new approach for me, which is probably […]

  3. Mak Kimchi | Brooklyn Alewife - February 18, 2014

    […] year I posted a recipe for my first foray into kimchi making: kkakdugi, or daikon kimchi.  Since then, I have acquired The Kimchi Cookbook by Lauryn Chun.  The book […]

Leave a Reply

Old Ways Herbal

Vermont Herb School, Clinical Herbalist, Plant Remedies, & Herbal Farmcraft Wisdom.

thesoporificcabbage

A great WordPress.com site

Naturally DIY

Homemade solutions for healthy living

Brooklyn Alewife

a record of home brewing experiments

Conscious Baby

Sessions, classes, & resources for the first two years

Tea Foodie [by Zanitea]

a journal of tea-inspired foods and recipes

Adventures in Local Food

A blog of the Food Action Committee of the Ecology Action Centre

Urban Herbwifery

your source for herbal wisdom, green living tidbits, and natural pregnancy and labor information

martinezyoga

Salvador Martinez, NYC, E-RYT 500

nourish

Learning to live healthy while living with Fibromyalgia.

