Fiery Jun Vinegar (A Variation on Fire Cider)

2 Jan

In the last year or so, I’ve noticed this stuff called Fire Cider on the shelves of crunchy stores in my neighborhood.  It’s apple cider vinegar infused with a bunch of spicy things.  It always looks appealing until I look at the price tag, and an 8 oz bottle is easily over 10 dollars.  Then I look at the ingredients and say, “Self, you could make that really easily.”  Months went by and I didn’t get around to it.   But, now it’s a New Year!  After a several-month hiatus from my blogging (not my fermenting, mind you),   I am making a comeback with my own version of fire cider.

P.S.,  Since I first wrote this entry,  I have noticed some prominent herbalists voicing concern over the company that distributes fire cider.  Although Shire City Herbals have popularized it by reaching a wide distribution, they certainly did not invent it.  However,  they have trademarked the name: one which I believe the herbalist Rosemary Gladstar originally coined.  One of my readers recently posted a comment to remind me of the lack of integrity that this company has displayed.  You can read more about the problem in this article she offered me.   So, may I suggest that you don’t support Shire City Herbals with your purse, but instead contribute to the age-old tradition of making your own!

8oz Fire Cider

This is the stuff popping up on my health food store shelves lately.

The choice to compile it was quite spontaneous: I’ve been growing a number of Jun mothers for folks who are interested in buying them.  In the winter, my kitchen runs on the cold side.  My Jun brew ferments, but the mothers grow slowly.  I stuck my fermenting jars on top of a seedling mat to encourage growth, but it has only helped so much.  My most recent SCOBYs have been growing for a month. I have some nice ones now, but alas, my jun has gone to vinegar.  What to do with all that vinegar?

Eureka!  Fire Jun Vinegar!  I made my first batch today.  I originally looked up the ingredients that the fire cider people use, via their website, www.firecider.com, and then I found another recipe on one of my favorite herbal sites, mountainroseherbs.com.  Mountain Rose herbs is primarily a vendor, but they also have a blog with recipes.  Between the two references, I compiled my own plan, and I threw together some ingredients that I had on hand.  Here’s what I came up with.  If you check out their pages, you’ll notice that both of the other recipes incorporate horseradish.  I may try this in the future, but that’s not an ingredient I keep around my kitchen, so it’s not in there for this round.  Use your own creativity and see what’s in your pantry to make your own.

Fiery Jun Vinegar

In a quart jar, combine:

1/2 onion, chopped

1/4 cup of grated fresh ginger

1/4 cup of grated fresh turmeric

a few sprigs of fresh rosemary and thyme

8 cloves of garlic, crushed

3 chilis de arbol (I have these really hot dried chills from the company Rancho Gordo)

2 Tbsp of lemon juice (Fresh with the rind would be great, but what I had on hand was some frozen cubes of lemon juice from a few months ago when I had a bunch of lemons I couldn’t eat fast enough)

1 Tbsp black peppercorns

Pour your month long-fermented Jun that has turned to vinegar and is way too sour to be palatable as a beverage by itself over the rest of the ingredients.  

Shake.

Wait 4-6 weeks for the jun vinegar to be infused with the spices.  You may want to shake the jar occasionally, and you may want to burp the jar in case your jun wasn’t fully fermented into vinegar yet and starts to build up pressure.  Use a plastic lid if you have one, or put some parchment or wax paper between the jar and your metal lid, as jun likes to corrode metal.

Strain out the spices through a cheesecloth into a new, clean vessel, squeezing the extra goodness out of the spices at the end.  

Mix honey into the brew to suit your taste.  

Your fiery jun vinegar can be consumed by the spoonful– all the spices in it are sure to make a great immune tonic.  You can also use it as a vinegary addition to salad dressings, or to spice up a fresh juice or an herbal tea.  If you try it out, let me know how you decide to use it!

Here’s my ingredients all stacked up nicely like a parfait before I shook it up:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e41/31534166/files/2015/01/img_3093.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e41/31534166/files/2015/01/img_3094.jpg

4 Responses to “Fiery Jun Vinegar (A Variation on Fire Cider)”

  1. narf77 January 3, 2015 at 11:43 am #

    Awesome stuff and a great (and most generous) share Ms Brooklynalewife. Its the middle of summer here in Tasmania Australia but you would be amazed at how many people have colds. I think New Years is not only a time to make (doomed) resolutions, but a time for bodies to tell their owners that they have had enough of partying and to suck it up and stay at home for a month. This amazing tonic should do the trick and as you so rightly pointed out, it is very versatile so you don’t have to wait for a tickley throat before you race for a spoon. I don’t have Jun but I do have booch and I am thinking that if I added some honey to some squiffy booch that I might be somewhere in the ballpark of where Jun would take this mix. Cheers for being awesome and sharing your amazing inventions and fermenty hacks with we, the poor. We penniless student hippies of the world salute you! 🙂

  2. Fxj March 28, 2015 at 7:08 pm #

    I’m getting a kombucha SCOBY soon. I look forward to trying new things with it. I hope to get a Jun SCOBY soon to go with it. Are you still selling those?

  3. Gloria September 9, 2015 at 10:05 am #

    Hi, great blog. You should not be advertising the Shire City fire cider though. They have tried to trademark traditional folk medicines, and sues anyone else who tries to make them. They’re a horrible company.
    http://www.berkshireeagle.com/news/ci_25079375/rsquo-fire-cider-rsquo-brand-ignites-dispute
    http://freefirecider.com/

Leave a comment

Old Ways Herbal: Juliette Abigail Carr

Women's Health & Family Herbal Appointments, Vermont Herb School, & Free Herbal Article Library

thesoporificcabbage

A great WordPress.com site

Naturally DIY

Ayurvedic and homemade solutions for healthy living

Brooklyn Alewife

a record of home brewing experiments

Conscious Baby

Respectful baby sleep, toddler challenges, motor development

Tea Foodie [#cookingwithtea]

a journal of tea-inspired recipes

Urban Herbwifery

your source for herbal wisdom, green living tidbits, and natural pregnancy and labor information

martinezyoga

Salvador Martinez, SF Bay Area, E-RYT 500, YACEP