High Season: what’s brewing in your cabinet?

26 Jun

As we sweat through another midsummer, fermentations thrive! Here’s what I have in my cabinet today. A few are alcohol infusions, most are ferments.

20140626-111927-40767640.jpg

20140626-111926-40766818.jpg

I have some writing to do about these, I guess! Stay tuned.

3 Responses to “High Season: what’s brewing in your cabinet?”

  1. R.P. Apothecary July 1, 2014 at 10:51 am #

    I’ve nominated your blog for the Liebster award- a wonderful award for new blogs with under 1000 followers! Check out my post here to learn more about it! Have a blessed day! http://www.rpapothecary.wordpress.com

  2. Fxj March 29, 2015 at 4:30 pm #

    I see in your picture that you have three different ferments going at once in the same place. Now, I make yogurt and sourdough (that I made from scratch no less with just flour and water–this is where my fermenting journey began). I will be starting my own kombucha as soon as tomorrow even and vegetable lacto-ferment next weekend. I hope to also start my own jun ferment as well (though people in this area don’t seem to know of it–or at least not the ones I know do). Do you ferment yours in a separate area?

    Common wisdom says keep them separate to prevent cross contamination. However, some sources say it doesn’t matter. What’s your opinion on the subject as someone who has more experience in these matters?

    • Adele March 29, 2015 at 6:24 pm #

      I have my kombucha and jun fermenting side by side, have done it like that for years, and I’ve never had a problem.

Leave a Reply

Old Ways Herbal

Vermont Herb School, Clinical Herbalist, Plant Remedies, & Herbal Farmcraft Wisdom.

thesoporificcabbage

A great WordPress.com site

Naturally DIY

Homemade solutions for healthy living

Brooklyn Alewife

a record of home brewing experiments

Conscious Baby

Sessions, classes, & resources for the first two years

Tea Foodie [by Zanitea]

a journal of tea-inspired foods and recipes

Adventures in Local Food

A blog of the Food Action Committee of the Ecology Action Centre

Urban Herbwifery

your source for herbal wisdom, green living tidbits, and natural pregnancy and labor information

martinezyoga

Salvador Martinez, NYC, E-RYT 500

nourish

Learning to live healthy while living with Fibromyalgia.

