Jun Bread in January

6 Jan

Months ago, I was very excited to read a fellow blogger’s creation of kombucha bread, adapted from a beer bread recipe from the Upslope Brewing Company. I’ve been meaning to try it ever since, and I finally got around to the task yesterday. I made an adaptation of her adaptation: thank you to Tea Foodie for your post!

20130106-185559.jpg

Honeylicious

Jun Bread

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and lightly grease a 9×5″ loaf pan.

Whisk together:

2 c white flour

1 c whole wheat flour

3/4 tsp salt

3 & 3/4 tsp baking powder

Mix in:

1/2 c honey

2 c Jun (see my Jun recipe for details under Kombucha 101)

Transfer your dough to the pan, and bake for 45 min. Remove the pan from the oven, and carefully drizzle

1/8-1/4 cups of melted butter

on top of the loaf.  Careful– it will be puffy and the butter can easily drip down the sides of the pan, making a mess.  Bake for an additional 10 minutes.

Once done, let the bread cool a few minutes before you remove it from the pan.

I’m sure this bread would be great hot, but I baked it right before we went out for an enormous Italian dinner.  I got a hold of the bread this morning for breakfast, however, and enjoyed it with a slab of Ronnybrook Dairy cinnamon butter on top.  The already butter-glazed bread barely needed anything on it, but the additional butter made it extra extravagant.  It’s a sweet bread, and the honey comes through strongly.  Next time I’d like to add raisins, currants, or nuts before I bake it.

5 Responses to “Jun Bread in January”

  1. Tea Foodie [by Zanitea] January 7, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    How exciting that someone posted an adaption of my recipe! Thanks for sharing. I think this sounds fabulous, especially with using some whole wheat flour and honey. Now I’ll need to try making your Jun recipe.

    • Adele January 8, 2013 at 8:34 am #

      Thank you for giving me the idea! Do you have Jun available to you? Let me know if you need a culture.

      • Tea Foodie [by Zanitea] January 8, 2013 at 11:28 am #

        I actually had never heard of Jun until you posted this recipe and then I read through your Kombucha 101 post. I would love a culture! Kombucha making has been on my list of things to do, but Jun sounds really cool. How would I get a culture, would you mail it to me?

      • Adele January 8, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

        I can send you one soon– as of right now I sent my last extra one out, and started a new batch a couple days ago. I already have one on “back order,” but if you send me your address you will be the next in line. I ask for you to cover shipping costs, which will be $10ish. Generally I send a paypal invoice for that. You can email me your info at brooklynalewife.gmail.com instead of posting publicly. It’ll probably be about 3 weeks to a month wait time….

  2. narf77 December 6, 2014 at 2:49 pm #

    Awesome share. I used to make vegan kefir (made my own sesame seed non dairy milk, infused it with lots of date paste and my milk grains converted with joy. Never had to refresh them in milk at all and they are dehydrated in my fridge for when I have the time to donate to a daily ferment again) and did some bread making experiments with an online friend in the U.K. to make a decent kefir alternative to sourdough starter. Worked amazing well for both the regular kefir (milk) and my kefir. I couldn’t believe that bread would rise using only kefir but it rose magnificently 🙂

Leave a Reply

Old Ways Herbal

Vermont Herb School, Clinical Herbalist, Plant Remedies, & Herbal Farmcraft Wisdom.

thesoporificcabbage

A great WordPress.com site

Naturally DIY

Homemade solutions for healthy living

Brooklyn Alewife

a record of home brewing experiments

Conscious Baby

Sessions, classes, & resources for the first two years

Tea Foodie [by Zanitea]

a journal of tea-inspired foods and recipes

Adventures in Local Food

A blog of the Food Action Committee of the Ecology Action Centre

Urban Herbwifery

your source for herbal wisdom, green living tidbits, and natural pregnancy and labor information

martinezyoga

Salvador Martinez, NYC, E-RYT 500

nourish

Learning to live healthy while living with Fibromyalgia.

