1000 views, and SCOBY goes global!

13 Sep

Yesterday, Brooklyn Alewife reached a milestone:  this blog has been viewed 1,000 times.  That might happen to some people in a few days or in one day, I don’t know.  For me it took a few months, and the number feels significant.

Meanwhile, my SCOBY has become a world traveller.  The first great adventure for SCOBY mother of kombucha was a few years ago:  my friend Monica brought her to Argentina.  I believe there are still pieces of this mother haunting Buenos Aires, even though Monica has since returned to NYC.  Last week was a big one, though.  Congratulations to Annie who adopted a Jun SCOBY which I shipped to Iceland, and Naz, who flew a kombucha mother from New York to Turkey.  In honor of milestones and worldly cultures, I offer you a picture of my current batches.  These were both taken on September 10– what with travelling I let them go pretty long, so they are both on the vinegary side.  It’s interesting to see the two ferments next to each other:  you can really see the difference in the brews.  Note how I started them both on the same day.  The scummy looking stuff hanging off the kombucha SCOBY is yeast strands.  That Jun mother sure did take over the jar, just as she seems to be planning to take over the world!Image:

Image

5 Responses to “1000 views, and SCOBY goes global!”

  1. faithful to Jesus September 24, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    The difference in the two cultures is phenominal! I really need to get Jun started…but I am getting ahead of myself.

    Hi! I saw Annie on Kombucha Kamp FB page and she mentioned getting a Jun culture …. I have been trying to get one with instructions for a year. I sent a fella postage to send me one along with Water Kefir & Milk Kefir grains but all I recieved back from him was a series of replies where he was having trouble geting his culture to the state where he could mail to me… then his last email he was laughing about grinding his MKG up in a smoothie & asked me to please send him more… UGH!!! I kindly replied if he would send back my $6 postage & send me $3 to mail him MKG I would be happy to send them… Never heard from him again.

    Annie said she sent you information on this blog & you were kind enough to send her one… I did not realize qhere she lived! & I have no idea where you are… I am KY USA…. & have sent cultures to Canada, England, Ireland & Mexico….. I get so much pleasure by sharing my cultures… I think they are a gift from our Creator & should be freely shared.

    I culture WK, MK, KT, Fermented Ginger, Kimchee, Kraut & lacto ferment several other things… working on long term culturing of honey with the following thin slices/pieces… lemon, lime, & ginger… will try some lemon, carrot & parsley on next trip to town… takes about a month in the fridge & is useful for cold season from what I have read…

    I also roast garlic & just pickled a large jar for the winter… never pickled them before but worth a try… close to raw as I can get as I find raw a bit harsh for me…. All of this I do personally for my family & myself…ferments changed my life!

    I said all this to say…. Jun is the only culture I know of that I have yet to successfully get my hands on. I have no clue what it is, how it tastes & how to culture it (or start it) I need to learn!! You are the FIRST person other than Annie that has mentioned it in a year. Seems in the USA there is a “secret society” where it is concerned. I would make it available to others for postage & packaging costs (which is not much for bags & gas to the post office). I even make it available to people if they say they dont have postage & I have the $$ to mail them out I just ask that they just “Pay It Forward”.

    My email address is: iamfaithfultojesus@gmail.com or you can find me on FB to message me @ Faithful to Jesus…. My picture is one of my little brother sitting on a picnic table back in the 1950s.. FB is my preference for a message if possible. I hope to hear from you. I have marked your blog & would like to pop in sometime. It is fun to contact other “culture fans” & share ideas.

    BTW faithful to Jesus is in fact my legal name not a screen name…. I am an old gramma that is 67 & helping to rear my grankids… Ferments have saved my health over the past 17 months & it has been restored to about 95%. Of course changing a lot of the thing I eat has made a difference as well (I dont do many cans, boxes or bags…processed things but I am not fanatical just a lot smarter)

    I hope to hear from you either by Email or on FB… when you message me please reference Jun Culture in the headder so I dont miss you! Thanks, faithful

  2. Annie October 3, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    Hi Adele

    Thanks again for the Jun SCOBY, I just wanted to tell you she’s doing great, and yes she is taking over the World 🙂 sent her first baby out to Denmark on friday and it arrived safely on monday 🙂

    I am already on my third batch, or actually It’s my fifth

  3. Annie October 3, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    (I hit post before I was done)

    …because since the first batch I have had to jars going, so she’s very effective your World traveller, and makes delicious brew 🙂

    Thanks again 🙂
    Annie

    *hi FTJ glad you found this page 🙂 *

  4. Kicki Forsgren October 29, 2012 at 6:41 am #

    Hi Brooklyn Alewife,

    Congratulations to your 1.000 visitors! 🙂 I stumbled upon your wonderful blog fermentations when I was looking for information about Jun. I am already doing kefir, kombucha and tibicos and was therefore very interested when I heard about Jun. Now I saw in your post that you sent one Jun SCOBY to Annie in Iceland and wondered therefore if there is a possibility that I may be allowed to adopt one Jun SCOBY to Sweden? I also wonder what recipe you are using when making your Jun? I would very much like to get in touch with you for more information if possible! My address is kicki.forsgren@gmail.com.

    Vänliga hälsningar
    Kristina Forsgren

  5. Nathaniel Hughes December 21, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    What a wonderful looking jun culture! I have been trying to adopt a jun culture for quite some time with no luck, only finding false imitation that are not viable cultures. I would be interested in purchasing a mother from if you would be that kind. If not, I understand. I can be reached at nathanielthughes@gmail.com.

    Compassionately,

    Nate

Leave a Reply

Old Ways Herbal

Vermont Herb School, Clinical Herbalist, Plant Remedies, & Herbal Farmcraft Wisdom.

thesoporificcabbage

A great WordPress.com site

Naturally DIY

Homemade solutions for healthy living

Brooklyn Alewife

a record of home brewing experiments

Conscious Baby

Sessions, classes, & resources for the first two years

Tea Foodie [by Zanitea]

a journal of tea-inspired foods and recipes

Adventures in Local Food

A blog of the Food Action Committee of the Ecology Action Centre

Urban Herbwifery

your source for herbal wisdom, green living tidbits, and natural pregnancy and labor information

martinezyoga

Salvador Martinez, NYC, E-RYT 500

nourish

Learning to live healthy while living with Fibromyalgia.

